The Child Protective Services Law amends the School Code and directly affects all new or existing employees, contractors with direct contact with students, and volunteers. An employee is an individual who has been or will be, Board-approved which includes substitutes, coaches, and extracurricular sponsors. All of these individuals need to obtain new clearances every 60 months. The employee is responsible to purchase and send their clearances to the Human Resources Office prior to the expiration date every 60 months. New employees are required to initially submit clearances to their employers that are dated within a year.
ACT 34 – Pennsylvania Criminal History Check - Please use the website for this clearance, not the printed form. https://epatch.pa.gov/home
Go to “New Record” and follow the instructions through to the Certification Page. Once the Search Results Table appears, click on the Control Number. (Hint: Write down the Control Number for future reference). The Record Check Details page is opened. Click on the Certification Page to access your official Clearance. The Record Check Details page is only a receipt and not acceptable as a ‘Clearance’.
ACT 114 – FBI Clearance - Please submit your clearance once fingerprints are completed and you electronically receive your unofficial copy of clearance. Or email your UE-ID # to [email protected] which is found on the registration form, your receipt, or your unofficial letter.
Service code for employees: 1KG6XN
Service code for volunteers: 1KG6ZJ
ACT 151 – Pennsylvania Child Abuse Clearance - Please use the website for this clearance.
NOTE: You must Create an Individual Account referred to as your Keystone ID to apply for this clearance. https://www.compass.state.pa.us/CWIS
ACT 24- Arrest/Conviction Arrest Form
In addition, as required by law, any arrest or conviction for an offense enumerated under 24 P.S. 1-111(e) needs to be reported in writing by filling out the attached form within seventy-two (72) hours of arrest or conviction.
Arrest or Conviction form
Act 126- Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse Mandatory Training
Act 126 requires professional development for all school entities in four specific areas:
The recognition and reporting of child abuse, the Pennsylvania Educator Misconduct Act and the maintenance of professional relationships with students. All employees of a school district who have direct contact with children must be trained. This training shall be a minimum of three hours and cover all required topics.
The intent of the training requirement is to protect the children of Pennsylvania by ensuring that all those working with them understand how to recognize and report suspected child abuse.
You can access free online training by going to the Pennsylvania Child Welfare Resource Center.
Or contact 717-795-9048
Register for the Mandated and Permissive Reporting in Pennsylvania Online Training
Go to https://www.reportabusepa.pitt.edu/
Click the "Registration" link at the top of the page.
Please make sure to complete all fields accurately. Please refer to the frequently asked questions (FAQ) section after you log in.
This course is approved for 3 continuing education credits and has been approved by the PA Department of Human Services and Department of State to meet mandated reporting (Act 31) license requirements. All other licensing-related questions should be referred to your respective Board(s).
Upon completion of the course, you will be prompted to print out the Mandated Reporter Training Certificate.
Please send a copy of the certificate to the Human Resources office within 30 days of your hire date or re-certification date.